Jefferson County is the largest county in Colorado with a population of 512,000 residents.  It is governed by a three-member board of county commissioners. 

The county, covering 777 square miles, lies on the west side of the Denver metropolitan area and extends from the eastern plains through the western foothills and into the Rocky Mountains.  There are 11 cities and towns within Jefferson County and several unincorporated communities. 

The Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, under the leadership of Sheriff John P. Stone and Undersheriff John A. Dunaway, serves 173,000 citizens in the unincorporated areas of the county. Founded in November 1859, the Sheriff's Office has 400 sworn deputies and 185 non-sworn employees who provide services to the community. Those services include:

  • Patrol Operations

  • Criminal Investigations

  • Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) and K-9 units

  • Bomb Squad

  • Community Resource Officers

  • Detention and Court Services

  • Communications Center

  • Victim Services

  • Support Services

  • Community Relations

Sheriff's Office headquarters in Golden, Colorado

A JCSO deputy wearing the bicycle / Community Resource Officer uniform.

Sheriff's Office Reserves Mounted Patrol


The JCSO Mobile Command bus housed the incident command post northeast of Columbine High School on April 20, 1999.